Stellar Collections Liner Notes

Track / Index

1 Winter Sunrise 2:30

2 The Andromeda Collection 8:05
   1 Further Back In Time 3:04
   2 Stellar Collections 2:08
   3 The Enormity of Distances 2:53

3 Perceptions 4:27

4 The Voyager Collection 10:37
   1 Jovian Moons 3:43
   2 Great Dark Spot 2:02
   3 Traveler's Tales 2:26
   4 Great Red Spot 2:25

5 The Distant Worlds Collection 6:01
   1 Charon 1:29
   2 Caloris Basin 1:04
   3 Europa 1:10
   4 Miranda 1:10
   5 Triton 1:07

6 Laser Bounce 1:56

7 The MarsQuest Collection 24:34
   1 Martian Mysteries 2:00
   2 Skywatcher 3:07
   3 Mariner 1:01
   4 Pathfinder 2:39
   5 Between Planets 3:43
   6 Antarctica 1:07
   7 Life Rock :56
   8 Desert Planet 2:14
   9 Haughton Crater 1:38
 10 On Orbit 2:06
 11 Red Planet Rhapsody 4:00

Total time: 62:15

The music on this album was composed for these planetarium show soundtracks and projects:
Track 1: Gateway To Infinity (1985) for the McDonnell Star Theater, St. Louis Science Center.
Track 3: Perceptions (1995) for the Taylor Planetarium, Museum of the Rockies.
Track 5: Special Effects Disc 4 (1990) for Sky-Skan, Inc.
Tracks 2, 6: Light Years From Andromeda (1997)
Track 4: The Voyager Encounters (1989)
Track 7: MarsQuest (2001) for Loch Ness Productions.

Some selections previously published as part of the MUSIC BACK-PACK Library of planetarium production music. © 1985-1997, Loch Ness Productions.

All selections written, performed on electronic keyboards and recorded by Mark C. Petersen.

© Copyright 2001, Loch Ness Productions. All rights reserved worldwide. All selections BMI. Made in U.S.A. Artwork by Garret Moore. Liner notes and peer review by Carolyn Collins Petersen.

Stellar Collections album photo

Geodesium albums by Mark C. Petersen:

Anasazi (1993)
Fourth Universe (1992)
West Of The Galaxy (1987)
Double Eclipse (1981)

For many, space music is best heard in the rarefied environment of the planetarium, an experience for those who appreciate the domed theater's soaring depictions of the cosmos. The thrill of all-encompassing visual and aural experiences is complemented by a music all its own.

Unquestionably the most prolific composer for the medium, Mark C. Petersen's name is synonymous with planetarium music. He has recorded and produced soundtracks for more than 50 planetarium shows, presented in more than 750 planetaria in the U. S. and 42 other countries. Mark has also performed live in concerts at major planetarium facilities in the U.S. and Great Britain. CNN's Showbiz Today showcased Mark in a feature on planetarium space music.

Mark uses digital samplers and synthesizer sounds to create his unique brand of planetarium space music. From the desolate planetscapes of Mars to flights of fantasy through deep space, the music portrays magnificent visions of the universe. Relaxing, yet provocative, the styles include the ethereal, beautifully floating music that characterizes traditional space music, as well as more dynamic and rhythmic works that transcend their e-music heritage. Mark infuses all his music with rich textures that are the signature of the Geodesium sound.

For this, the sixth album of the Geodesium (pronounced Gee-oh-DEE-zee-um) series, Mark has arranged various "suites" from the best of his planetarium soundtrack work over the last two decades. Avid Geodesium fans may recognize some familiar themes among the works comprising this retrospective collection.

From Fourth Universe, Mark employs additional tracks and deeper stereo fields in revisiting Martian Mysteries; On Orbit and Red Planet Rhapsody are reprised in more complex and satisfying detail. In Great Dark Spot, he enriches the instrumentation in reworking the haunting Chetro Ketl from Anasazi. Winter Sunrise provides a bridge from that previous album, transitioning the listener from the desert spaces of Earth to the star-filled realms of Andromeda.

Thanks to John Wharton and Hal Donovan, Steve Savage, Kevin Scott, and Paul Dusenbery for commissioning the projects that inspired the creation of this music. And, always, Mark offers special thanks to Carolyn Collins Petersen for her critical eyes, ears, and support while this album was coming into existence.